Variable costs as a percentage of sales are equal to 100% minus the contribution margin ratio.

When you run a small business, it’s important to always know your break-even point -- the amount of sales needed to pay for all of your costs in a period. Below break-even, you generate a loss; above it, you turn a profit. The contribution margin ratio reveals the percentage of sales that applies to your fixed costs after covering variable costs. When you know your contribution margin ratio, you can figure your break-even point in dollars and units with a couple of straightforward calculations.

About the Contribution Margin Ratio

  1. The contribution margin ratio, as a percentage, equals your contribution margin in dollars divided by sales, times 100. Your contribution margin in dollars equals sales minus total variable costs. The higher your contribution margin, the quicker you can potentially generate a profit because a greater portion of each sales dollar goes toward fixed costs. You can figure your contribution margin ratio using sales and expense information from your most recent year in business.

Fixed and Variable Costs

  1. Fixed costs are those that remain the same regardless of your sales volume. Examples include rent, fixed salaries and wages, property taxes and utilities. In general, the lower your fixed costs, the lower your break-even point. Variable costs, however, increase when sales rise and decrease when sales fall. Examples of variable costs are commissions and wages tied to sales volume, costs to buy products and materials used to make products.

Contribution Margin Ratio Calculation Example

  1. Assume your small business generated $800,000 in sales and had $360,000 in total variable costs last year. Your contribution margin equals $440,000, or $800,000 minus $360,000. Your contribution margin ratio equals 55 percent, or $440,000 divided by $800,000, times 100. This means that 55 cents of every dollar of sales revenue goes toward paying your fixed expenses.

Dollar Break-Even Point

  1. Your break-even point in dollars equals your total fixed costs for a particular period divided by your contribution margin ratio. Using the previous example, assume your total annual fixed expenses are $350,000. Your break-even point is $636,364, or $350,000 divided by 55 percent. This means you must generate $636,364 in annual sales to pay for all of your costs. When your sales reach this level, you have neither a profit nor a loss. If you sell more than that amount, you earn a profit.

Unit Break-Even Point

  1. The break-even point in units represents the number of units you must sell to break even. The formula equals your break-even point in dollars divided by the price for which you sell each unit. A unit might be one product, a billable hour of service or some similar measurement. In the previous example, assume you sell your products for $50 a piece. Your break-even point in units is approximately 12,728, or $636,364 divided by $50. You must sell 12,728 units during the year to cover all of your expenses.

A business' sales revenue less its variable costs

What is Contribution Margin?

Contribution margin is a business’ sales revenue less its variable costs. The resulting contribution dollars can be used to cover fixed costs (such as rent), and once those are covered, any excess is considered earnings. Contribution margin (presented as a % or in absolute dollars) can be presented as the total amount, amount for each product line, amount per unit product, or as a ratio or percentage of net sales.

Variable costs as a percentage of sales are equal to 100% minus the contribution margin ratio.

Formula for Contribution Margin

In terms of computing the amount:

Contribution Margin = Net Sales Revenue – Variable Costs

OR

Contribution Margin = Fixed Costs + Net Income

To determine the ratio:

Contribution Margin Ratio =  (Net Sales Revenue -Variable Costs ) / (Sales Revenue)

Sample Calculation of Contribution Margin

A mobile phone manufacturer has sold 50,000 units of its latest product offering in the first half of the fiscal year. The selling price per unit is $100, incurring variable manufacturing costs of $30 and variable selling/administrative expenses of $10. As a result, the contribution margin for each product sold is $60 or in totality for all units is $3M, having a contribution margin ratio of .60 or 60%.

What are Variable Costs?

Variable costs are direct and indirect expenses incurred by a business from producing and selling goods or services. These costs vary depending on the volume of units produced or services rendered. Variable costs rise as production increases and falls as the volume of output decreases. 

Also, it is important to note that a high proportion of variable costs relative to fixed costs, typically means that a business can operate with a relatively low contribution margin. In contrast, high fixed costs relative to variable costs tend to require a business to generate a high contribution margin in order to sustain successful operations.

Examples of variable costs are:

  • Direct materials – Raw materials that are primarily needed in producing goods
  • Production supplies – Items such as oil and lubricants used to maintain machines
  • Per unit labor – Amount paid to workers per unit completed
  • Billable wages – Amount paid to workers as per their billed worked hours
  • Commissions – Amount paid to salespersons for every unit sold
  • Freight in/out costs – Shipping or transportation expense which is only incurred when there are goods for delivery ordered by customers
  • Variable utilities – Electricity and water used to produce volumes of goods and services

What are Fixed Costs?

Fixed costs are expenses incurred that do not fluctuate when there are changes in the production volume or services produced. These are costs that are independent of the business operations and which cannot be avoided. In determining the price and level of production, fixed costs are used in break-even analysis to ensure profitability.

Examples of fixed costs are:

  • Depreciation – Amortization of acquisition costs for property, plant, and equipment, which is spread throughout its useful life
  • Interest expense – Interest rate on a loan that needs to be paid on a periodic basis for a loan
  • Insurance – Premiums paid under an insurance contract
  • Rent – Periodic expense for leasing a property
  • Property taxes – Tax charged by the government based on the assessed value of the property
  • Salaries – Fixed amount paid to workers or employees for their services, regardless of hours worked
  • Fixed utilities – Cost of electricity, water, and gas generally used in office administration

How Important is Contribution Margin in Business?

When a company is deciding on the price of selling a product, contribution margin is frequently used as a reference for analysis. Fixed costs are usually large – therefore, the contribution margin must be high to cover the costs of operating a business.

A low or negative contribution margin indicates a product line or business may not be that profitable, so it is not wise to continue making the product at its current sales price level unless it is a very high volume product.

It is important to assess the contribution margin for breakeven or target income analysis. The target number of units that need to be sold in order for the business to break even is determined by dividing the fixed costs by the contribution margin per unit.

To resolve bottlenecks, contribution margin can be used to decide which products offered by the business are more profitable and, therefore, more advantageous to produce, given limited resources. Preference is given to products that provide a high contribution margin.

Additional Resources

Thank you for reading CFI’s guide to Contribution Margin. In order to help you become a world-class financial analyst and advance your career to your fullest potential, these additional resources will be very helpful:

  • Fixed vs. Variable Costs
  • Analysis of Financial Statements
  • Financial Modeling Best Practices
  • Sensitivity Analysis

What does 100% contribution margin mean?

The closer a contribution margin percent, or ratio, is to 100%, the better. The higher the ratio, the more money is available to cover the business's overhead expenses, or fixed costs.

How do you find variable cost from contribution margin ratio?

How to Calculate Contribution Margin.
Net Sales – Variable Costs = Contribution Margin..
(Product Revenue – Product Variable Costs) / Units Sold = Contribution Margin Per Unit..
Contribution Margin Per Unit / Sales Price Per Unit = Contribution Margin Ratio..

Is variable cost ratio the same as contribution margin ratio?

The contribution margin is equal to 1 – the variable cost ratio. That means in the examples above, the contribution margin ratio would be either 90% or 95%.

What is variable cost contribution margin?

What is the Variable Contribution Margin? Variable contribution margin is the margin that results when variable production costs are subtracted from revenue. It is most useful for making incremental pricing decisions where an entity must cover its variable costs, though not necessarily all of its fixed costs.